Root Vegetable Bean Soup Recipe

If you follow me on facebook you may have seen the other day that I was making Root Vegetable Bean Soup. Here is the recipe that I promised. I had this soup a little over a week ago during conferences. It has become a tradition at my school for the PTO to bring in soup for the teachers on the first night of conferences. There are always plenty of delicious options and I usually sample a little bit of everything. This one had be going back for seconds though. My co-teacher Michelle saw it and said that “it sounds like something you would like.” Holy Buckets was she right! Here is the recipe. Unfortunately I did not get any pictures of it when I made it because Zack and I both ate it so fast! 

 

(source)                                            

Root Vegetable Bean Soup

Ingredients

1 c. diced celery

3 medium carrots-finely chopped

1 small chopped onion

2 cloves garlic-minced

2 tsp. Butter + a little olive oil

3-4 med. potatoes-peeled and sliced

2-3 parsnips-peeled and chopped

2-3 turnips-peeled and chopped (You can also add or substitute a rutabaga-I did one rutabaga and one turnip)

4 c. chicken broth (you may need a little more)

2 tsp. dill weed

1-15 oz. can Great Northern Beans (rinsed)

1 1/2 Tbsp. Flour

3/4 to 1 c. sour cream

1/8-1/4 tsp. Pepper

Salt

-In a stock pot over medium heat cook and stir celery, carrots, and onion in butter and oil until tender.

-Add garlic

-Stir in broth, dill weed, potatoes, parsnips, and turnips.

-Add Salt

-Heat to boiling at Med-High

-Reduce Heat and simmer covered for 20-25 minutes or until vegetables are tender. 

-While the soup is simmering, in a small bowl mix together sour cream, flour, and pepper

-Add beans during last five minutes of simmering

-Add sour cream mixture at the end of cooking and stir until combined

-Add more salt if desired

 

Let me know if you make this and how you like it!

 

One thought on “Root Vegetable Bean Soup Recipe

  1. That really does sound delicious. While I’m not a fan of this frigid weather here, I do like that it’s perfect soup weather 🙂 I’m going to have to give this one a try for sure.

Leave a Reply

